RSS Feed

Frack’s “Big Giant Chicken” – a recipe

Posted on

Yes, I can cook.  I can’t bake, but I can cook.  I actually love to cook, and if I had a prep chef and someone to do the dishes for me, I would love it even more!  I also love food.  Really good food.  Some would say I’m a foodie.  And because I love my kids, I’ve shared my love of food with them.  It infuriates me to go to a restaurant and have the waiter immediately tell me about chicken nuggets and hamburgers for my children.  I sincerely believe that feeding kids that processed crap is a form of gastronomic child abuse, wait… do I see a soapbox to stand on?!  Another post for another day…

So here’s the deal.  I have a vegetarian child, and a carnivore child, and my carnivore child Frack looooves him some chickun!  OK, so we all love chickun (except for Frick, she’s a vegetarian remember?).   And like so many other moms who have soooo damn much on our plates, it’s a challenge to cook, let alone something healthy, fast and delicious.

Well… I did it!  I found the perfect recipe!  When I cook steaks, I make it simple. A little rock salt, extra virgin olive oil and voila!  Delish.  So I thought, instead of all of the marinating, and rubbing and putting garlic under the skin, let’s make a simple roasted chicken and see if it flies, and it did!  It rocked!  The only downfall is that it smells delicious, which means that the entire time it’s cooking, Frack is asking me continuously if his “big, giant chicken” is ready.  Remember, to a 4-year-old, a whole chicken is big and giant!

So here’s how you too can make a big, giant (and delicious) chicken:

Ingredients:

  • A whole chicken (pick a size that’s good for your family, I cook a small one and always have leftovers)
  • Half a head of garlic
  • A small onion
  • Oregano
  • Rock salt
  • Powdered garlic
  • Extra virgin olive oil (optional)
  • Pre-heat oven to 325
  1. Take a roasting pan, line it with aluminum foil (for an easier clean-up) and spray it with Pam or another non-stick spray.
  2. Remove the chicken from the wrapping, remove all the “stuff” from the cavity and rinse the bird.
  3. You now have two options, if you want a darker skin, dry off the chicken and rub olive oil on it.  If you want a lighter skin don’t dry it off.
  4. Take half of the head of garlic, peel and cut (or crush) put it to the side.
  5. Take the onion and cut it in half.  Use approximately half of the onion and cut it into quarters.  Put it to the side.
  6. Stuff the cavity of the chicken with the garlic and onion pieces.
  7. Sprinkle the top of the chicken (the breast side) with rock salt, garlic and oregano and voila!!  You’re done!  The oven will do the rest!

Put your soon-to-be delicious chicken in the pan, put the pan in your pre-heated oven and wait.  It will take approximately 3 – 4 hours depending on the size of your bird. Some have pop-up thermostats, or you can calculate approximately 20 minutes per pound. Serve with the sides of your choice (in my house rice, corn or broccoli and depending on my mood, a salad) and enjoy!!

About mzelma

Culturally ambidextrous renaissance woman. Mom, wife, daughter, entrepreneur, blogger, shiny and fabulous, just like home! Find out more at www.about.me/mzelma

2 responses »

  1. Even I can make this! Sounds delicious, especially with the crispy skin and the garlic and onion flavoring. I like using foil to line the pan – easy clean up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

